Clear · 82°

Weapon Permits

Learn about how, when, and where to get a permit to carry or purchase a weapon.

NOTICE - All applicants for Gun Permits must apply in the county that they currently reside.

  • Submit a copy of an Iowa driver’s license or nonoperator’s identification card, containing a Marion County address.  
    • If a driver's license does not reflect a Marion County address one of the following specific items will be accepted: electric, gas, or water bill; voter registration card; or copy of lease/rental agreement.
  • This office accepts CASH ONLY for all weapon permits and must be paid at the time of application.
  • Applications are accepted at the Marion County Law Enforcement Center - Civil Office during regular business hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday thru Friday.

Applications are available at the Civil Office or can be downloaded with the following links:

Purchase     Carry

Please note that applications will not be accepted without payment or without the necessary documentation.

Application may be filled out at the Sheriff's Office or prior to submitting but must be signed and dated when the application is made at the Sheriff's Office. The applicant's photo will be taken at the time of application, however, the photo is for the Marion County Sheriff’s records only. The photo will not appear on your new permit.

Once the background check is complete, the Chief Deputy will review, then approve or deny your application within the 30 days required by the State of Iowa. Permit information is then forwarded to the Iowa Department of Public Safety. Permit cards are now printed and mailed to the applicant by the State. The usual time frame from the date of application to receiving your permit in the mail is approximately 2 to 3 weeks.

Permit to Acquire Pistols/Revolvers – 5 Year Permit (beginning 7/1/17)

  • $25 (cash only)
  • State identification with current address or documentation verifying residence

Permit to Carry Weapons – 5 Year Permit

NEW Permit To Carry Requirements

  • $50 (cash only)
  • State identification with current address or documentation verifying residence.
  • Applicant must provide proof of one of the following:
    • Civilians: Must present certificate of completion from a qualified firearms safety course completed within the past 24 months OR Must present certificate of completion from a DNR approved hunter education course that includes handgun safety training. Certificate must state that the course included handgun safety training in order to qualify for a weapon permit
  • If the applicant has held a permit that was issued 1/1/11 or after, no additional training is required.
  • Current military members (active, Guard, or Reserve): Must provide a copy of your Basic Training Certificate AND current copy of your weapons qualification card. (Iowa Code 724.9d (1) (2))
  • Retired or separated military members: A copy of your DD-214 showing an 'honorable discharge' or 'general discharge under honorable conditions.' (Iowa Code 724.9d (1) (2))

RENEWAL Permit To Carry Requirements

Applicant must apply within the 60 day permit renewal window, which is the period of 30 days before and 30 days after expiration date of current permit to be considered a renewal. Be aware that applying more than 30 days prior to expiration, or more than 30 days after expiration of current permit must be handled as a new permit.

  • $25 (cash only)
  • Current permit to carry.
  • State identification with current address or documentation verifying residence.

Please be aware that weapon permit laws are subject to change at any time. If you are nearing your expiration date on a current permit, if you are interested in obtaining a new permit, or if you need to make a change to your current permit, we suggest you call the Civil Office at 641-828-2247 to ensure that the requirements listed above are still current.

Additional information concerning weapons permits in the State of Iowa can be found at the Iowa Department of Public Safety website.

Specific information about Weapon Permits may be addressed to the Civil Office, 641-828-2247, during regular business hours – 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Back · Marion County Sheriff's Office