Frequently Asked Questions
Resources & ServicesSchedule an Appointment Motor Vehicles Driver's License Property Taxes Trailers Mobile Homes Tax Sale Common Forms & Applications Specialized/Personalized Plates Legal Notices About FAQ Department Home
How can we pay vehicle registrations?
For vehicle registrations, you can do that:
- on the Iowa Treasurers website
- by drop box (outside the south entrance of the courthouse)
- at the counter
- by mail
- over the phone for a fee (2.25% of total)
Do I have to have an appointment?
Depending on what you need to do. If you are only needing to renew your registration(s), turn in plates for refunds, or swap out for vanity plates, you do NOT need an appointment.
If you are transferring a title, you may self-schedule an appointment.
If paying registration online, where can I find my PIN?
Your PIN is specific to you and should not change so you can use it from year to year. The PIN is located on your renewal notice in the top right-hand corner. If you cannot find it, you can contact our office at (641) 828-2202.
Can I put a vehicle title into someone else’s name?
No. The new owner needs to be present at the time of transfer or have the appropriate forms completed beforehand. If you are transferring a title on behalf of another person, you may download Form 411007 from the Iowa DOT website. They must complete and sign this form.
How do I get a replacement title?
Download Form 411033 from the Iowa DOT website.
There is a 5-day waiting period if the original title is lost. (If the original has been altered or spoiled in some way, please submit the original title to us with Form 411033 and we will process a replacement title in the same day.)
Anybody whose name is on the face of the title MUST sign the replacement application.
The replacement title must be ordered where the title was made (county specific). The fee is $25.00.
How do I order personalized/vanity license plates?
Most personalized license plates can be ordered online on the Iowa DOT website.
How do I get a salvage title vehicle inspected?
You must complete the inspection form on the DOT website and then contact the sheriff’s office to schedule an inspection with them.
Questions about abandoned vehicles?
Visit the Iowa DOT website for more information.
When are property taxes due?
Because we run on a fiscal year and not a calendar year:
- First half taxes are September 1st, delinquent October 1
- Second half taxes are due March 1st, delinquent April 1
If a customer wants to pay the full year taxes at one time, they will typically pay the whole year in September.
How can we pay taxes?
You may pay by any of the following convenient ways:
- Through the mail. Postmark must be by September 30 for the first half payment and March 31 for the second half payment to avoid penalty.
- In our new drop box located by the south door of the courthouse.
- Over the phone by credit card for a 2.25% fee.
- In our office at the Courthouse from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
- Online through the Iowa Treasurer's website. You must have the 5-digit receipt number located on your tax statement available.**
When do I receive my property tax billing/statement?
Taxes are billed every fall and statements typically go out in the mail in mid-late August.
Where can I find my receipt number to pay taxes online?
Where do I find out what I paid for taxes last year?
Where do I file for homestead credit?
Almost all credits are applied for through the Assessor's Office.
* The one we handle is the elderly/disabled credit which is paper that has to be completed each year, is due by June 1st and you’re qualified based on yearly household income.
What is the penalty if property taxes are paid late?
1.5% penalty is assessed per month after the due date.
What and when is a tax sale?
The tax sale is the sale of any unpaid property taxes within the county as of the first part of June. The tax sale is held electronically on the third Monday in June.
When can I renew my driver’s license?
You can renew up to 180 days before and 60 days after your expiration date. They can always renew late, but if they are over a year expired they will have to retest for everything.
How much will my license cost?
A simple renewal (with no endorsements) will be for 8 years and will cost $32 dollars. ($4 per year).
I lost my driver's license, how can I get a new one?
Make an appointment and we’ll reissue. You will need to bring your social security card or number to prove your identity.
How much will an ID cost?
An ID cost $8 and is good for 8 years. Same documents are needed to get an ID as to get a driver's license.
I got my license renewed but the expiration is wrong (1 month)?
Yes, the paper license expires in 30 days. Your real plastic should arrive in the mail within that time frame. If it has not arrived in 30 days, please call the number on the back of the paper copy to see if it has been returned to them, if they can track it for you, or if they can give us permission to reissue.
Can I schedule a driving test?
We do driving tests on Tuesdays by appointment only. We do not do CDL or motorcycle drive tests.
For a CDL driving test, call Ankeny or Ottumwa DOT Stations. For motorcycle testing, call C&C in Chariton, DMACC in Ankeny, or other surrounding counties may do them. Visit the Iowa DOT website to schedule an appointment.
What is the phone and fax number to the DOT?
Phone: (515) 244-8725
Fax : (515) 239-1837
What does my child need to take their permit test?
They will need their birth certificate, social security card, and a parent with them. If the parent cannot be present, they will need to bring in a signed parent affidavit form.
How does my child get a school permit?
They must have taken driver's education and hold their permit for 6 months with no accidents or citations. They will need to fill out a Minor School Affidavit and have it signed by their principal. Most schools have these at their disposal.
My child drives to their other parent's house every other week. Can we put two addresses on their school permit?
Yes, as long as they are the parents. No other address can be put on the form. No address out of the school district is allowed. Put the second address under “Additional address that student intends to drive from" on the Minor School Affidavit.
I’m 16, what do I need to do to get my license?
You will need to bring in a parent and your current permit. You must have taken driver's ed, held permit for one year, and have a clean driving record for the past six months.
I’m 17, what do I need to do to get my full license?
You will need to bring in a parent to sign if you are under 18. You must have held the intermediate license for a year with a clean record. After you turn 18, those requirements are no longer needed.
Map · Marion County Treasurer
214 E Main St · Knoxville, IA 50138